Categories
SAL

SAL

I am happy to give you a progress report in this Stitch-A-Long! And good progress too.

As you know I am doing Cathy Reavy’s Stitch Wheel Sampler. It is designed so that each cell is a different stitch.

This is where is is at the moment. Not much further to go!

Close ups of each stitch….

(I got a little muddled with my numbering on the photos. I showed you the one with the x last time. Also you can probably count better than I can. There is no #5!)

I have also added these sweet little pink flowers to the basket in the earlier ring. They are created in oyster stitch, which is rather fiddly. Some of the other stitches create petals with less fiddle.

I’m on the home stretch. Fingers crossed that it will be finished next check in!

This SAL is for our personal embroidery. The members of this group do wonderful and interesting work. Follow the links to be inspired!
AvisClaireGunCaroleConstanzeChristinaKathyMargaretCindyHeidiJackieSunnyMeganDeborahReneeCarmelaSharonDaisyAnneAJCathieLindaHelen


I respectfully acknowledge the traditional custodians of this land on which I live – the Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung People of the Kulin Nation, their spirits, ancestors, elders and community members past and emerging.

By anne54

Botanic artist

38 replies on “SAL”

I think I will make it into a cushion. It is very tactile, and my fingers enjoy running over it. i do intend to use it as a reference, to extend the stitches I use in my own work…I am just not sure what that will be.

Like

I actually recognised some of the stitch names as ones I have learned! Now I just have to recognise the stitches so I can name them! It is a lovely piece of work.

Liked by 1 person

Anne, that’s been an interesting challenge – and maybe you won’t use some of the stitches again, but at least you know if you saw them in a pattern/idea – you will know where you can access them and know that you could make them again. A cushion sounds like a great idea and one of those objects that would start a conversation easily…

Liked by 1 person

that will be fun, I wonder if your Mum will have used all those stitches. Some people in earlier periods made “samplers” – often to do with a school project. And I know there are still people who make them – especially for special occasions like the birth of a child or the wedding of “jack and Jill”

Liked by 1 person

She says that many are new to her. I think she used the basics, and now limits herself to stem stitch, chain and lazy daisy. Her grandmother taught her to embroider, so it has come down a few generations.

Liked by 1 person

Numbering like that is how I used to send clients prospective jewellery designs, but, I too an rubbish with numbers, so now -after a stroke of geniarse, I put a wooden scrabble tile in the photo, and then there’s not need for me to edit in the details later 🙂
I love this sampler. Thank you for continuing to share.

Liked by 1 person

My mouth dropped open when I went to the link, Anne. For covering so many stitches and making it into art, like putting together squares of painting effects to make a patchwork painting. I’m currently doing a big afghan throw in pastels, 25 X 12 row squares to join and then edge. I’m always wondering what comes next when I’m half way through a project. Well, here is a great option! I love it! And your colours too. Good going :>)

Like

Nothing like a good natter, so let's have a chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.