Categories
Odds and Ends

Wishing you joy

I suspect that there are many of you who, like me, are rather glad to see the back of 2017. It was a year of trouble and strife, and sometimes the only way to stay sane was to turn off the news.

But of course there were many positives too. I loved reading your blogs about your gardens, your creative works and your general ramblings. Even the posts that were despairing about the world were coming from a place of humanity and a desire to see a better world than the one being built around us. In Australia we finally have marriage equality and in Victoria dying with dignity legislation. And then there was the birth of my great-nephew Archie ~ sigh.

So thank you for helping me get through the year and for supporting my art in so many ways.

My wish for 2018 is that we all find joy. Let’s do it and celebrate the things that bring us that joy.

And more on next year…..

I am not a fan of setting goals. James Clear has good reasons why Big Goals don’t work. I am going to do something a little different in 2018, an idea that I have borrowed from Dr Snail over at the Snail of Happiness. Lots of you follow her blog (if you don’t, you should pop over and have a look) so you might remember her 17 in 17 list. She may have borrowed the idea from someone else, but following that trail is not on my to-do list today! I won’t explain the concept; my list should fill you in.

My idea is to include things that I want to do more of. For example, I always mean to get to the movies, but for some reason never quite make it. So now I am going to encourage myself to reach my target of 13. If I don’t make it, then at least I will have seen some. Some were easy to put against a number ~ 18 letters seems to be the perfect number. I am not sure about some ~ making even 3 garments might be a stretch, and baking 8 cakes or biscuits….well. I am allowing myself to put a couple together, such as sometimes combining the walk with visiting a different place.

So, here is my 18 in 18 list.

Screen Shot 2017-12-30 at 4.29.43 PM

On Boxing Day we workshopped my list (don’t you love family involvement?!), which was great because people gave me suggestions; I wouldn’t have thought of a music one. Mum, who loves to record things, suggested that I use a book to keep track of what I have done. So I set one up, because I love to record things too! She also suggested that I illustrate it, but I’m pretty confident that’s not going to happen.

20171231_160224.jpg

Every so often through the year I will tell you how I am going. Blogging about it will keep me accountable. And my Mum will expect updates as well šŸ˜Š

What do you think about new year goals and lists? Some people, like Cathy, have words that keep them focussed for the year. What do you do? What would you put as #1 and #18?

Whatever you do, and how ever you do it, I hope your life is filled with people you love, and who love you back. May you find JOY.

Happy New Year Friends xoxo

*************************************************************************************

Let me tempt you to sign up for my newsletter…..I have been creating art works that are quite different from anything I have done before, and they are only going to be available through my newsletter. Intrigued? Sign up and I will tell you more and show you photos in the next letter.Ā And you get one of my feather drawings as a downloadable gift. (My Instagram feed will give you a sneak peek of one of the art works that will be available.)

By anne54

Botanic artist

18 replies on “Wishing you joy”

thanks for the “pingback’ – I’m glad I decided on my “3 word stance” – but each to their own, and maybe those little #’s will kick start you on another journey…I’m thinking about “3 garments” – you haven’t said what kind, on your list – I’m think corsets or something mind bending – I’m sure there is to be research opportunities – Pinterest, Costumiers, even Renaissance Faire pages – or would rather a bathing costume from an earlier era…oh so many choices šŸ™‚ for sure for you šŸ™‚

Like

I have to admit my mind hadn’t gone to corsets or bathing costumes! I was thinking more along the lines of tops or dresses, or perhaps knitting a jumper……but why not think about it. Maybe my word needs to be ‘adventurous’ too!

Have a lovely 2018, and enjoy your art journey too.

Like

I have only one resolution for next year: to stop *talking/thinking* about things I want to do, and to actually get out there and *do* them šŸ™‚ I hope this will encourage me to stop making endless lists and do some actual planning and acting upon them.

Liked by 1 person

That was my immediate thought too! Gosh, Kate is a human dynamo already.

Kate, have a wonderful 2018, and I hope it is filled with creativity, and not too much faffing and procrastination! Thanks for your company this year.

Like

The very best of luck with the 18 for 2018. I started in 2015 with 15 for 2015, the original idea was from Laura who blogged at Made in Oxford. Sadly she hasn’t blogged for some time. This year I am not going to do an 18 for 2018 but I shall enjoy seeing your progress. It really helped me to focus on doing some enjoyable things when life was tough. Enjoy.

Like

Thanks for giving me the link, Cathy. It’s always nice to acknowledge those that create these good ideas for us. I can understand that it is not something that you may want to do every year, but I am glad that it helped you in a tough time.

Have a joyful 2018.

Liked by 1 person

I’m not a goal setter but I quite admire those of you who are. I don’t have any actual resolutions either but I am going for another ‘dry January’ this year and, if that doesn’t make me feel too deprived and sorry for myself, I am also going to limit my fabric and yarn buying activities whereby I only buy new supplies if I am starting a new project and haven’t already got them in my stash (after really, really looking to make sure I haven’t).
Good luck with your list – it will be fun to see how you get on with it and, if you find 13 movies worth watching, please let me know šŸ˜‰

Like

Good luck with dry January. I went to our big fabric supply store yesterday and came back with some ‘must haves’ ‘cos they were on sale!

I hadn’t thought that there might not be 13 movies that I want to see šŸ˜Ø I will certainly be keeping you updated.

Have a wonderful 2018.

Like

Happy New Year to you too !! I don’t make lists, I just go with the flow at the moment but maybe I should make one for next year and stick to it ?! Lovely work you made !

Like

Great post Anne, and a great idea as alternatives for goals. Iā€™m not much of a goal setter either. And with the changes for us in 2018, staying sane is about my only goal for the new year!

Like

You have enough going on in your life to not need to add anything more! I guess your goal is to learn as much as you can during your embroidery course, as well as staying sane.

I hope your 2018 is filled with embroidery and fun.

Liked by 1 person

My goodness, Anne–for someone who doesn’t like to set goals, you just set an awful lot of them! But they are fine goals and it seems you focused on things you enjoy, rather than feel some weird obligation to do. Here’s hoping you accomplish the fun ones and, if any of them become guilt-inducing, you chuck them!

Like

What a great #1 to #18 to aspire to. I’m just coming to grips that it’s day 2 of the new year. Where has the festive season gone… We were in the throes, then I blinked and it was over. My main focus for the year is study but there are so many other things I would like to do, time wrangling should be my second focus… it’s a slippery little sucker imho.

Like

Nothing like a good natter, so let's have a chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.