Categories
Odds and Ends

Here I am again

There is something very familiar about that title. I feel that I so often write “I am sorry I have been away from this lovely space, but I am back on a regular basis.” So here I am again, back in this lovely space and hoping that I can be much more regular.

And be a more regular visitor to your blogs too. That’s fallen by the wayside of late too.

Anyway…..

I need to update you on my walking progress. You may remember that I signed up in December to do the Memory Walk organised by Dementia Australia in memory of my loved Terry. There has been such fantastic support, and I am proud to say that our wonderful friends and family have donated over $3000!! I have been touched by every donation, that in these difficult times people are prepared to honour Terry’s memory in this way. Even some of you that I only know through this blog ~ that’s something special.

You can see the donations here, and it’s not too late to donate to this most worthy cause if you feel you can.

It’s not too late because the walk is next Sunday!!

That came around so quickly. It seems like just the other day I was telling you back in December I was going increase my walking target of one kilometre a month. Well, I never reached that target. I was waylaid by an ongoing gut issue that, at times just left me with no energy and I hope has been resolved. Then last month I did something awful to my back…I was only putting on my sock! It is coming good now, and fortunately walking is something that helps. Then I came down with a really nasty cold.

So my intention of being able to walk the full 6 kilometres is not looking good. But I will give it my best shot. And I will have the most amazing support crew ~ Team Terry ~ walking beside me.

I am hoping to be able to walk two of this blue circuit ~ 6kms in total.

I am determined to make the most of this week, doing solid walks each day. Today I am going to walk up the hill to the library. Fortunately the whole point of a hill is that it is downward on the way home!

There is lots more to tell you about what has been going on, but that’s for another day, very soon. And I am looking forward to catching up with all your news too. Until then, take care.


I respectfully acknowledge the traditional custodians of this land on which I live and walk – the Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung People of the Kulin Nation, their spirits, ancestors, elders and community members past and present. The land always was, and always will be, Aboriginal land.

13 replies on “Here I am again”

Downhill at the end is a really good plan. Many a times I used to go for a run and feel like I was flying along only to realise when I turned for home that the wind had been helping me along! What a slog that was. Good to read about your life again. I missed you and your work.

Liked by 2 people

I am always glad to see a post from you Anne. This has been a tough year for you, and it is only natural that you are in and out of blogland. I’m sorry to hear that you have had sickness and injury keeping you from your goals, but it does sound as though you are truly on the mend. Take it easy, and do what you can in the walk. Hurrah for Team Terry!

Like

I am so sorry to hear that your training schedule got interrupted with health problems. However far (or near) you walk you will have raised money, increased awareness of Dementia and its impact and done Terry proud. Thank you for reminding me about the event – I meant to donate and got distracted but I have done so now. Not as much as I would have liked but some. I will be cheering you on.

Like

Nothing like a good natter, so let's have a chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.