Categories
AnneLawsonArt My art work Texture

SAL ~ The forest regenerates #2

Many apologies for this late Stitch-A-Long post…I think I must have inadvertently deleted Avis’s reminder email…..which also had the current links to others who are joining in. So, I will link back to my SAL post from last time. Your other option is to go to Avis’ post. As well as getting an up-to-date list, you can look at the lovely highlands landscape she is sewing. Do go and see what delightful personal stitching the other group members are doing.

And more apologies…there is not really a lot of progress in my work. The weather here has been very humid, which doesn’t make for easy sewing. And life has been busy.

And I was a bit stuck with how to deal with the bottom of the work, which meant I wasn’t sure how far down to take the couching, and what shape to make it. More of that in a moment.

Last time…

Contemporary embroidery

This time….

Contemporary embroidery

I think I know how I am going to deal with the bottom of the work. I knew this texture couldn’t continue to the bottom. Firstly because I want to create some idea of trees in a forest, and secondly because the work needed variety of stitch and colour.

I played around with some thoughts in my sketchbook, and will do an approximation of this idea. Tree trunks, probably in white/cream against a mottled darkish background to simulate undergrowth. It will trail off to the bottom right to provide another diagonal. Well, that’s the idea! I haven’t investigated the thread stash to see what I have that will work. Maybe next time…..

20200218_171155

Apologies again for not having the list of other members to link to. Again, here’s Avis’ blog.

10 replies on “SAL ~ The forest regenerates #2”

I thought you had done a lot of work Anne – I can’t imagine how long this takes as it is so intricate and you aren’t exactly working from a kit or a pattern 😀 The texture pops out through the screen, I would love to see it in real life!

Like

I’m sure you don’t need to apologise…not everything in life goes swimmingly. And here, it’s been a drought until the wee hours of this morning when stuff called water aka rain started falling…it’s not cold though and it’s been intermittent all day…

oops sorry – OT

love your work with thread – interesting that it doesn’t seem to involve machinery as you have often done “before” where as I’m now enjoying machinery 🙂

Like

Nothing like a good natter, so let's have a chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.