Coffee and cake — outdoor sketching

I am stepping out of my comfort zone and sketching in public. At this stage it is still discrete sketching. I am not up to sitting on the footpath madly sketching away! This was latte and cheesecake at the cafe that is not Brunetti’s in the Nova Cinema complex.

As I sat there, drawing in ink, I let the conversations around me drift in and out of my head. I did pick up on the waitress saying to me “That’s fantastic” as she whizzed by with a pile of dirty dishes. That made me feel good.

Drawing the cheesecake made me eat it more slowly!

The paint was added at home.

IMG_1367

About anne54

Botanic artist
This entry was posted in My art work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Coffee and cake — outdoor sketching

  1. Anne, I like your live sketches! It’s as if I’m there at the cafe with you. Christine

    Like

  2. acflory says:

    Good for you! I know how self conscious we can be, doing our ‘thing’ in public. Maybe one day a chair and the easel?

    Like

  3. Yay! It’s an initiation! Nice sketch!

    Like

  4. carlseapatch says:

    I was at Brunetti’s last Thursday, wish I had thought to sketch there, the cakes are amazing

    Like

  5. EllaDee says:

    A pleasant, creative, change from the ubiquitous smartphone food photographers & posters… I was at lunch last week with a colleague who snapped everything that was put in front of her! I agree with the waitress, the drawing is fantastic, and also that you created the opportunity πŸ™‚

    Like

    • anne54 says:

      Yeah, I don’t get taking photos of food, much less sharing them to the world. πŸ™‚ I think we sketch them because they are something in from of us. I would have been just as happy to draw the salt and pepper shakers if there were any there! Although I also know of sketchers who draw their food to make them eat slower. It certainly helped me eat the cheesecake more slowly!

      Like

Nothing like a good natter, so let's have a chat!

