How does my garden grow?

It’s the end of day light savings today. I love the feeling of adding an extra hour to my life. (I know, I know, it is just reclaiming it from last year, but it feels like a bonus!) It was also time to start to chop back the vine. I have mentioned before how useful our vine is to keep the house cooler in Summer. However, soon we will need the Autumn and Winter sun to come streaming in. So, the big chop has begun.

Chopping up the vine and into the green waste

Chopping up the vine and into the green waste (Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

This photo makes it look like the vine prunings are tumbling into the green waste bin. (Our council collects this green waste for mulching and composting.) However, to fit it in we needed to chop it into smaller pieces. We have filled our bin, and our neighbour’s, and intend to ask the other neighbours if we can use their bin too!

Nothing to stop the sunlight streaming in now. (Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

Nothing to stop the sunlight streaming in now.
(Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

The down side of clearing the windows? I can see how grotty they are. The next task was to give them a good clean.

You may be wondering why I didn’t put the prunings into the compost bin. Firstly, they would have overwhelmed the bin. And secondly, I am having trouble with the compost bin at the moment. It has been invaded by thousands of grubs, which I think they are black soldier fly larvae. They are consuming all the matter I put into the bin, especially the kitchen scraps. And consuming it at a great rate. Can anyone help me? Metan? Is my identification correct?

Inside the compost bin (Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

Inside the compost bin (Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

It’s not easy to see all the larvae, but you can see see the ones on the sides. That onion peel was actually moving as the critters were munching it!

So we put in a small amount of the vine clippings and added some sugar cane mulch. They are buried under about 60 cm of material now. But I will certainly keep my eye on them! And please, any more suggestions?!

On a different note…..Last Spring I posted these photos of my ornamental garlics.

(Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

(Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

(Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

(Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is what they look like at the end, just before I cut them down:

(Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

(Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

And these are big the cloves:

The cloves of the ornamental garlic (Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

The cloves of the ornamental garlic (Photo copyright: Anne Lawson)

 

 

About anne54

Botanic artist
This entry was posted in How does my garden grow? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How does my garden grow?

  1. metan says:

    Wow! It sounds like your compost bin is being mega efficient, just not in the way you really want! I have no suggestions, other than borrowing a neighbours chooks and letting them feast. You would have to get rid of the onion first though. 😉

    Interestingly a quick google showed me that people love these beasties in their compost because they are so efficient! Maybe you should stuff it full of vine cuttings and let them have at it. http://www.microponics.net.au/?p=175

    Like

    • anneb54 says:

      Unfortunately, there are no chooks nearby. I thought of taking them up to be eaten by friend’s chooks, but didn’t fancy a 3 hour car trip with them. They may have eaten the carseats, and then I would be travelling with one very grumpy partner! Thanks for the link. I am about to investigate

      Like

  2. acflory says:

    I love those garlic flowers? They’re so sculptural. Okay I think I made that word up. I’ve started Autumn cleaning too. I’m weeding my vegie patch before I cover it all with scads of pea straw. Isn’t this weather glorious?

    Like

    • anneb54 says:

      Have you finished weeding your veggie patch? And what Winter ones will you put in? The ornamental garlic is great, especially as I forget where I bury the cloves. I am always surprised when they just pop up around the garden.

      Like

      • acflory says:

        I’m about 85% there but I’m kind of torn between wanting to plant stuff and wondering if I should just plant a manure crop to improve the soil. Speaking of garlic, the eating kind, I’ve found about 7 or 8 little garlics coming up amongst the weeds. I guess they must be from cloves that didn’t sprout last year. I’m weeding with lots of TLC so they don’t get damaged!

        Like

        • anneb54 says:

          Garlic is one of our successful crops. However, we do find that some years the bulbs, and therefore the cloves, are bigger than others. Weed carefully and I am sure you will have a bumper crop to keep the vampires away!

          Like

          • acflory says:

            Yes, I’ve noticed that too. Last year’s crop were really tiny in comparison to the year before. I watered them religiously but still…they were runts!

            Like

Nothing like a good natter, so let's have a chat!

